PDP loses 2 Senate, 6 Rep seats in C/River

PDP loses 2 Senate, 6 Rep seats in C/River

The Cross River chapter of the Peoples Democratic Social gathering (PDP) didn’t retain two Senate and 6 Home of Representatives seats within the not too long ago concluded Nationwide Meeting (NASS) elections.

The opposition occasion misplaced the Cross River Central and Cross River South to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). It, nonetheless, beat the sitting Governor Ben Ayade to the Northern senatorial seat.

The PDP candidate for the Northern senatorial district and the incumbent, Jarigbe Agom-Jarigbe, defeated Ayade by 76,145 votes in opposition to Ayade’s 56, 595 votes.

Equally, Williams Jonah of the APC clinched the Central seat with 57, 354 votes in opposition to Ewa Bassey of the PDP who secured 53,463 votes within the polls.

For the Central senatorial seat, Asuquo Ekpenyong scored a complete of 57, 870 votes to beat Labour Social gathering’s Daniel Asuquo who pulled 50,76p votes whereas the PDP candidate, Ekpo Ekon got here a distant third with 41,117 votes.

The opposition occasion may solely safe two seats out of the obtainable eight seats within the Home of Representatives.

Learn additionally: Oyo: Coalition for Tinubu back Makinde’s re-election bid

Whereas the PDP didn’t return its candidate and incumbent for the Calabar South/Akpabuyo federal constituency, Ekpenyong Ayi-Essien, its candidate and incumbent for the Calabar Municipality/Odukpani, Etta Mbora additionally misplaced to the Labour Social gathering candidate.

Ayi-Essien, who has been within the Inexperienced chamber for 20 years, got here a distant third with 14,485 votes.

The LP and APC candidates, Edem Aqua and Joseph Bassey come second and first with 16,448 and 23,885 votes respectively.

Equally, PDP Mbora misplaced the Calabar Municipality/Odukpani seat together with his 19, 584 rating to come back third behind APC’s Idim Inok who scored 21,066 and Labour Social gathering’s Akiba Ekpenyong with 23,759 votes.

PDP additionally misplaced the Boki/Ikom seat that they had held for 12 years by way of Chris Agibe to APC Abang Bissong.

Attah Achinke, who sought to interchange Agibe, was narrowingly crushed by the APC candidate with 23,158 votes in opposition to 22,745. The APC clinched the Akamkpa/Biase, Obubra/Etung, and Yakurr/Abi Home of Representatives seats.

Nevertheless, PDP candidates for the Ogoja/Yala and Obanliku/Obudu/Bekwarra seats defeated the APC candidates and incumbents to clinch the 2 seats.

The incumbent for the Ogoja/Yala seat, Jude Ngaji misplaced to PDP’s Godwin Offiono by 32,964 in opposition to 36,642 votes; Idagbo Legor misplaced to Peter Akpanke of the PDP with 26,819 in opposition to 36,576 votes for the Obanliku/Obudu/Bekwarra seat.

The ruling occasion in Cross River accomplished the sweep with their victory in Obubra/Etung federal constituency seat with Michael Irom who polled 13,990 votes to beat PDP Gabriel Okpechi who scored 12,620 votes.

Read More

Read Previous

Oyo: Coalition for Tinubu again Makinde’s re-election bid

Read Next

Elections: Understanding the true kidnapper in Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *